The best winter reads

26 February 2018 by
First published: 3 January 2018

The best winter reads

These are the best winter reads for you to enjoy when you’re warming up indoors this winter. Take your pick from biographies, fiction and more.

Cosy up indoors with the best winter reads

La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume 1, Philip Pullman

Philip Pullman has returned to our bookshelves with his latest fantasy offering. The author of His Dark Materials has decided to explore Lyra’s world even further with a prequel to the original trilogy. The first volume of The Book of Dust follows eleven-year-old Malcolm Polstead and his dæmon Asta as they navigate their way through the peculiar parallel universe in which they live. Malcolm even comes across our original heroine, Lyra, who is just a baby at the time in which the book is set. Fans of Northern Lights, The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass and new readers alike will be entranced by Pullman’s magical way with words.

£20, amazon.co.uk

Cosy up indoors with the best winter reads

How to be Champion, Sarah Millican

Sarah Millican’s How to be Champion will have you in fits of giggles. Millican has decided to be very ambitious with her debut book, as its autobiographical content reveals a side to her personality that you may not have seen before. The comedian also provides lots of self-help tidbits to help you overcome any struggles that you’re dealing with in your life. This book is funny, moving and highly entertaining. We have no doubt you’ll love it!

£20, amazon.co.uk

 

Cosy up indoors with the best winter reads

Harry Potter – A History of Magic: The Book of the Exhibition, British Library

Explore the wonder of Harry Potter’s magical world with this incredibly detailed and beautifully illustrated book. Not only will this book reveal secrets about the wizarding world that you didn’t know before, but it’s also the official accompanying book for Harry Potter exhibition taking place at the British Library. Delve into a treasure trove of spells, potions, sketches from the Harry Potter archive and so much more.  Whether you’re returning to JK Rowling’s imagination for the a millionth time or you’re a Muggle through and through, this book will certainly add a touch of charm to your winter.

£30, amazon.co.uk

 

Cosy up indoors with the best winter reads

Get Fit, Get Happy, Harry Judd

You may know Harry Judd best as the drummer of British boyband McFly, but the former Strictly Come Dancing winner also enjoys leading a fit and healthy lifestyle. Judd has utilised fitness in an effort to overcome his anxiety, and now he’s encouraging his readers to do the same. By combining exercise and dance, Judd is on a mission to show people of all ages that working out can be an incredible mood booster. Have a read and try it for yourself!

£19.99, amazon.co.uk

 

Cosy up indoors with the best winter reads

Tanya’s Christmas: Make, Bake and Celebrate, Tanya Burr

YouTube sensation Tanya Burr has hit the shelves this winter with a book full of delicious bakes and fun crafts. What better way to have fun with your loved ones than cooking up a storm in the kitchen or creating cool seasonal crafts? Discover your inner child and have a laugh making, baking and celebrating this winter. Plus, for more inspiration you should take a look at Tanya Burr’s YouTube channel.

£16.99, amazon.co.uk

 

Cosy up indoors with the best winter reads

The Fat-Loss Plan, Joe Wicks

Fitness phenomenon Joe Wicks has returned with his latest health and fitness guide, The Fat-Loss Plan. Wicks has a whopping 100 new recipes for you to try, paired with simple and effective workouts. Perfect for anyone looking to nail their health and fitness this winter.

£16.99, amazon.co.uk

 

Cosy up indoors with the best winter reads

Still Me, Jojo Moyes

We first fell in love with Lou and Will in Jojo Moyes’ Me Before You. We then followed Lou as she struggled in the aftermath of her devastating experience in the sequel After You. Now, Lou Clark is back once again in Jojo Moyes latest novel, Still Me. Lou has taken her quirkiness all the way across the pond to her new job in  New York, leaving her boyfriend Sam behind in London. However, Lou is soon going to be for yet another emotional roller coaster. Cosy up by the fireplace with this absorbing read. You won’t be able to put it down!

£20, amazon.co.uk

 

Cosy up indoors with the best winter reads

Calm: Letting go of stress and searching for a happy centre, Fearne Cotton

As a television and radio presenter and public figure, Fearne Cotton knows how stressful life can be. That’s why she’s released Calm, a handy guide for anyone who needs to take a moment to breathe once in a while. This book is the follow-up to Cottton’s previous book, Happy: Finding joy in every day and letting go of perfect. This book will have a calming influence on your life, providing you with expert advice, simply activities and comforting words to help you find a sense of peace.

£18.99, amazon.co.uk

 

Cosy up indoors with the best winter reads

Blue Planet II, James Honeyborne & Mark Brownlow

Prepare to be enthralled by Blue Planet II, the official accompanying book to David Attenborough’s epic BBC1 series. This book details the mysteries of the big, blue sea, exploring hidden depths and magnificent underwater creatures. The book contains 200 astounding photographs stills from the seven-part series and will show you how spectacular life is underneath the surface. With a foreword from David Attenborough himself, this book will give you a greater appreciation for the world we live in.

£25, amazon.co.uk

 

Cosy up indoors with the best winter reads

Me Life Story, Scarlett Moffatt

She first graced our screens as a member of the Moffatt family on Channel 4’s Gogglebox. She then went on to win ITV’s I’m a Celebrity, capturing the nation’s hearts in the process. Scarlett Moffatt has truly made a name for herself as one of the funniest women on the block. Me Life Story will have your sides splitting with laughter, with hilarious anecdotes and moving moments from the television personality’s life so far.

£18.99, amazon.co.uk

For more…

Check out these stylish baselayers we love and discover how mindfulness can ward off the winter blues.